WORKING LIKE AN UNDERPANTS KNOME
Got a little easy @ 8:38 a.m.
on 2004-04-23

I was writing a catch-up letter to an old co-worker and thought...."Hm...I need to catch up with my d-landers, too." So I'll start with my letter and go from there.

I haven't really had time for anything but moving and working. I finally got myself settled up here...meaning I'm not driving to and from Bryan every 3-4 days. And I've been limiting my after-hours activities during the week while my body gets used to (again) being in an office by 8am. Funding is also pretty tight at the moment, but don't worry, I'm biding my time. I think I went out up here every night Jan-March.....so this downtime is being appreciated. I'm actually driving back to Bryan today, I haven't seen Joe in about 2 weeks...I miss having him to snuggle with. But he's off Monday and Tues, so he's going to follow me back up here Sunday night and stay till Tuesday night. So we'll get 5 days together...more or less, he's working all weekend and I've got to work during the week! This is why I hate retail.

Well, that and the soccer moms with spoiled kids in Eddie Bauer strollers. Annoying, annoying, annoying.

Perhaps I should go see if someone can 'train' me on something. Probably not, looks like another day of just chatting around.

~Kitty

________________________________________________

That's pretty much it for me. I finally got internet access in my house and received a letter the next day that our phone service was being ended. So I think we're going to just pay up for the cable modem. Soon, I will be able to write in here regularly.

________________________________________________

Alright, I just received my first few clients. Have I even mentioned what I'm doing?? I'm finding jobs for people with handicaps, disabilities, etc. My clients will have mental illneses, be in rehabilitation from accidents (and what-not), in recovery from alcohol/drug addiction, are blind...and the list goes on.

Does anyone else see the humor...I spent about 6 months looking for a job, and now I'm going to get paid doing it!

And I didn't even have to whip out my knee-pads!

I'm just finishing my second week here and the trainings have just about killed me. The first week was nothing but power-point presentations...boring. And this week I just followed people around, watching. I kinda felt creepy, stalker-ish. But I had fun, too. I really like all the people in the office here, and I'll be out on my own a lot (I really liked that about my last job).

So aside from the fact that no one else around here drinks coffee (FREAKS!) I think I'm going to fit in nicely.

I even have my own cute little office (non-cubicle). I've only put up my diploma, a fake ivy, a picture of Precious, and hung a huge map of Dallas on the wall (I get lost often), but I'm going to make it homey.

That's about it for me, I'd better go look like I'm doing something!

take | me