There's a first time for everything
Got a little easy @ 11:53 a.m.
on 2003-06-25

Ok, I'm a bit jittery today, don't know if it's the coffee, lack of sleep, or just my absolute excitement that I'm finally putting a 1st entry. I'm gonna go with the coffee. So anyway, there I was, sitting in my office feeling like the tech wizard (or wizardess)of all time because every day I pretty much get praised for being the only one around who doesn't have to pause and think before using the words 'scroll down.' I was sitting high on my throne, assured that I was up to speed on the basic computer-type-stuff when I start talking and looking at what my-age people are doing on the web. (I say my-age, which is 24, because I work with a bunch of over 50 people who were not offered basic keyboarding in school) Anyway, the point is, I completely suck, and life completely sucks when you realize being Queen of the Incompetent puts you in the same category as your constituants. So here I am world, ready to better myself, and challenge boundaries of who I can be! In the words of Kramer, "Giddy-up!"

________________________________________

I'll start off with a little bit about me...it is MY diary, after all...

I'm 24, and fast approaching my quarter-life crisis. I've lived in Texas all my life and have an adorable accent, I'm a short blonde with green eyes and am dating the most wonderful man ever! We've been together for 3 years now, and no, there is no ring in our immediate future. I think that's why we've stayed together for so long, neither one of us feels the pressure to 'settle down' 'get hitched' or 'pop out a few bambinos.' Oh, he's Hispanic, so I should warn you that I feel completely entitled to crack Mexican jokes and abuse the Spanish language as I see fit...I've also worked in a few Mexican restaurants so all that I've really picked up on is the dirty words the cooks taught me! I do want to learn more Spanish, though, considering Mr. Wonderful's mom only speaks Spanish now (she had a stroke a few years ago) I think it may be nice to have a conversation with her should our situation turn a bit more permanent...I said the wedding bells weren't iminent, but they're not out of the question. By the way, I'm easily sidetracked...I'm so ADD... How many kids with ADD does it take to change a lightbulb? ----Hey, wanna go ride bikes? Ok, I also work in the mental health field, so I'm allowed to crack jokes about ADD kids, too. That's another thing you should know about me, my job. I got into psychology thinking the human brain is so awesome the way it works and changes and can be shaped....I now desperately want out! I've decided that if I don't change careers I will eventually become so jaded from working with families with mentally ill kids, and behavior problem kids, that I'm not going to ever want to have any of my own! That's enough bitching about work. On a more positive note, there are two diaries that I read religiously, Chicagojo and Ozwald. These two keep me rolling throughout my day and allow me to live a bit vicariously outside the realm of 'deskjob, with much traveling.' I've got to give props to Chicagojo here and now, she is quite inspiring and if you haven't read her dairy, do it now! She's also hella-fun to hang with on an October-birthday-girls-night-out! Ok, before I get too nostalgic, I'm going to lunch (yes, I'm writing this on company time with company equiptment). I hope this thing has a spell-check... Oh, and if anyone out there wants to help make my page look pretty, I'd appreciate the help! After tumbling from my tech-literate pillar, I'm not above asking for help...Thanks!

take | me