NOW PAT YOUR HEAD AND RUB YOUR STOMACH
Got a little easy @ 1:33 p.m.
on 2003-08-22

Yuck.

I finally think that I have my career-search heading in the right direction, and someone hands me a few balls to juggle at the same time.

"What does all this mean?" you may ask.

I have finally started getting some good contacts for a drug rep position. Really Good Contacts. So I think, "Great! I can focus all my energies on this."

But no.

Today's my last day of severence pay, which means that starting next week I have to do a little monkey dance for the unemployment organ-grinders.

So far, I've done everything they've asked me to. Filled in all the forms, and registered at the work-force center. The problem is, all my job matches are horrible, and I don't want to have to apply for two of these stupid jobs a week whilst working my drug-rep-mojo on the hiring managers of pharmaceutical companies. I realize they can count as contacts, too, but I doubt I'll be able to get two a week unless I just start sending my resume to companies I know nothing about. I like to research, and take my time to find out about a company before convincing them that I am the bright shining star they've been looking for.

Or maybe I'm just freaking out and it won't be as bad as I'm imagining.

I deserve to lose my head a bit, though, I've been nothing but the picture of cool and calm these past two weeks, not worrying that I've just lost my job in one of the biggest hiring slumps in history.

Cool, calm, and collected.

_______________________________________

On another note, Joe and I rented Minority Report last night, which was really good. But the point is, when we opened the DVD player to put in the disc, what was smiling up at us, but the second disc of Gangs of New York. I watched that movie when I still had a job, it's been so long ago.

Anyway, I thought it was funny. I returned it to Blockbuster this morning, and had a good laugh.

_______________________________________

It's been quite a hectic week, though outside of 3-4 major events, I can't think of what I've been doing.

I've been walking in the park for cardio, laid out by the pool for some Vitamin D, played pool Tuesday night (and kicked some booty), had lunch with Bob-my-new-best-friend-that'll-hopefully-get-me-a-job, and I've been working on resume/cover letter/registering with the work-force type stuff.

Perhaps it's because I now have the option of sleeping later that I feel like the days fly by. I'm no longer starting my morning pre-7am, but instead around noonish.

Perhaps I should start setting an alarm.

_______________________________________

I need to start researching drug companies, I'm looking for the ones that sell mental illness related meds. I figure since I do actually have a degree in Psychology, it may help to stick with what I know and am interested in.

I'd better shower first, it's going to be a long and dirty battle.

And I need to find a recipe for a quiche....I still have tons of eggs to get rid of...

take | me