SOMETHING IN THE ENCHILADAS
Got a little easy @ 3:18 p.m.
on 2003-10-21

Since Joe was only able to get off this past weekend, and not next weekend (my actualy b-day) we moved the party up! Thursday we took off to his parent's house (4 1/2 hours, and yes, I get carsick). I had a really good time, two of his sisters were around, a 15 yr old neice and 1 1/2 yr old nephew who is too cute for words. Full house is not the right expression...more like crazy house. But from what they were saying, it's always been like that.

I wouldn't know, only having one sister and a very strict mother who rarely let me have friends over, my childhood house was anything but crazy.

Oh, crazy upon crazy...his mother suggested Joe and I sleep in his old room TOGETHER. Uhhhh.....did I somehow slip into Bizarro World? His family is Hispanic, and Catholic, his father is a Deacon. Last Xmas, we weren't allowed hardly in the same room together! Hello...I barely slept a wink the two nights we were there. I kept jumping awake expecting his dad to be standing over me, cursing in Spanish, with a shotgun in hand. Joe said I was mumbling about 'disgracing the family' in my sleep. Yeah, I was pretty creeped out. But I did have a few nice chats with his mother, which we've never had before since she barely speaks English and I can only pick up on a little of the Spanish.

I also watched My Big Fat Greek Wedding with his sister and niece and we laughed about how it's a parallel to my coming into his big fat Mexican family.

The wedding will be a blast, whenever that happens. And I really started thinking about having a big family. It was nice.

We packed up and headed to Dallas Saturday around noonish, I slept in the car ride (about 2 hours) due to the whole non-sleep I had at night.

I think I'm also coming down with something, respitory infection or flu, I just know that I've generally been feeling like crap lately. Especially in my lungs, and feverish. Yuck.

So when we arrive at our friend Ash's house, the three of us headed out to the mall for some b-day shopping Joe's promised me. Bad idea. Put a sick girl-getting-sicker in a stressed shopping pressure filled mall ( I hate shopping), needless to say, I got cranky and feverish running from dressing room to dressing room. I hate that I ruined it for Joe (who loves shopping) but I really felt like crap. I managed to hold on long enough to buy a new outfit, though :)

After some primping and making myself beautiful in my new b-day outfit, we headed out for some Mongolian food. Yummy Yummy Yummy.

I first had Mongolian BBQ last year during my b-day weekend in Austin with ChicagoJo and some other friends. Maybe I'll make it a tradition.

Anyway, after a lot of attitude giving and opinions as to the best place to hang out, we ended up in Deep Ellum.

Let me explain the attitude. We had with us: Me and Joe (up for anything), my now Out friend who was also just looking to have fun wherever, S and N who were showing more cleavage than a butcher knife and were looking to shake their asses, Ash and her friend K who were on the same mission, and my guy friend C and another guy friend of his who were not looking to shake their asses, but sip martinis and look down their noses at the ass-shakers. Then there was Bruce, who was so drunk from watching the Ohio game earlier, that he was the token drunk guy. You know how that works.

We hit the Velvet Hooka which I really liked, smoked some cool flavored tobacco (cappuccino, menthol, and vanilla mixed), then headed to the ass shaking place. I noticed C wasn't there, even though he had walked in the door with us. His friend mentioned not feeling well earlier, so I figured he took the guy home. Hours later when we left the club C was on the street in his car (which Joe and I had ridden in). He laughed and said that he had gone home, realized my purse was in his backseat, and had to come back.

He had said earlier that he didn't want to go to the club, but just stay at the Hooka bar. I really didn't think he was that big of a spoiled brat that he would go home instead of having a good time in a place he considered "too ghetto" for his lilly white ass to grace.

I'm a bit disenchanted at the moment. The rest of us had a good time, I pee-d behind a car in some parking lot, and had a nice lunch the next day with friends before heading back home.

I wonder if anything will happen this weekend, which is my actual b-day weekend. I'm not even freaked about turning 25 anymore. Hmmm, maybe Joe's mom put something in the homemade enchiladas to turn me into a coo-ing baby-making machine!

take | me