A GOAT, AND A CARNEY, BUT COMPLETELY UNRELATED
Got a little easy @ 2:26 p.m.
on 2003-11-19

I�m looking for a kick-ass guacamole recipe online. Just a little extra info for your reading pleasure.

It�s been a while since I posted, I�ve been recuperating. My apologies, diary gods. I�ll give a quick overview of the past few day�s activities, not as an excuse, though. There is no excuse for my missing daily postings.

Bad Kitty.

Saturday: I went with a friend (we�ll call her S) to a party in Huntsville. I�ve never been to Huntsville, driven through it once on the way to the funeral, but never stopped. I was promised this would be a good party (which it was), beer would be free flowing (which it was), and there were several bands playing(um�). All the bands backed out except for one, which was set up in a car-port so that the only sound I heard was the drums, and basic feedback. It really sucked and I was getting the first twitchings of a headache when luckily the cops showed up.

Never thought I�d say that.

They said the party could rock on, but the band was too loud and had to stop (thank you, diary gods). There was also a pole dancing contest, and an actual pole set up, but I respectfully declined. My accident prone ass was not about to get up on a 3-foot diameter �stage�, about 4 feet off the ground and test gravity. Notgonnahappen, much to the dismay of the male drunk asses there. This is also the reason I�ve never allowed myself to be dangled by the ankles for a keg stand. Fate doesn�t like me. I�ve come to accept that, and take the proper precautions.

So at about 4 or 5am, back at S�s place finally, I�m ready to pass out when about 4 other cars of people pull up. Oh joy, don�t these people know I�m OLD now? And as always happens when you stay up that late, some drama occurs. Some chick who�s been fighting with her boyfriend all night, that�s already puked up the chalupa you watched her scarf earlier, and has now convinced herself that she�s thinking clearly, will want to go over to their house to kick him out. Because she�s thinking clearly. Uh-huh.

Ok, so maybe this always doesn�t happen, but it always seems to happen to me. Don�t ask me how this all happened, I�m still not sure. This chick, who I must add was really cool in the sober hours, tells everyone to get in the cars, we�re going to kick some guy out of his house. Now, I don�t know these people. I was with S, and was just along for the ride, so into the car I hop, not wanting to be left alone. You can imagine what happens next, screaming and crying once at the boyfriend�s house, everyone is standing outside, just listening.

Not one of my better moments.

She comes out crying saying we all just need to leave, he has a shotgun. We�re in Texas, this was partially expected.

More crying, drama, and driving, and I finally crawled into bed with Joe around 7am. He asks if I had a good time, I say that I did, but there was a lot of drama at the end, there was a goat at the party, and I�d have to fill in the details later, I was tired.

Sunday : I woke up around noon, surprisingly, drove to my apartment from Joe�s, took a shower and crawled to the sofa to veg in that state of not asleep, but not fully conscious. My neighbor and her 4-year old daughter come over because her roommate (male cousin) brought a friend (creepy guy) over that night from an hour and half away, and abandoned him at their house while at work till 11 Sunday night. This guy was really really creepy. Like child molester creepy. He kinda looked like a Quaker, or a Mormon. He had on black jeans, a black and white checkered shirt, and wore a black fedora. On their porch. I walked outside, tried to be nice, make conversation, but no. This guy was really really creepy. I kept thinking of the Elizabeth Smart story and how this creepy guy was going to kidnap my neighbor�s cute little girl to propagate the kingdom of heaven, or something wacky like that.

My neighbor suggested we go to the carnival in town, and I agree, get my hungover ass off the couch, and off we go. I haven�t been to a carnival in years, and I really had fun. We rode all the kiddie rides, did the dart throw, the ring toss, went on the ferris wheel�.I haven�t had that kind of fun for a long time, and it really felt good to throw my head back and laugh like a kid, and with a kid, at my reflection in the fun house mirrors.

Note on the fun house: The hamster-wheel at the end is NOT, I repeat NOT as easy as Olivia Newton-John and John Travolta make it appear. My neighbor walks through fine, no problem, I get in to show her kid it�s not scary and I fall, I slide, I�m banging around in there like a frog in the spin cycle! I only get out by rolling myself out.

I don�t bruise. I have enough iron in my blood to set off any airport security system. My knees are right now swollen and bruised beyond my recognition. Damn hamster wheel.

Oh, and I got asked out by a Carney! The little one was picking out a prize from the rubber ducky game and the guy running it wasn�t half bad looking, and probably in his 20�s�.but�he was shorter than me! And I�m only 5 feet tall! That�s it. No more. Nada.

He was really sweet about it, nothing vulgar, just asked how old I was, then mentioned that he�d be in town the next few days and was wondering if I would like to see a movie.

Awwwww.

We waited till we got behind the cotton candy stand to start giggling. Oh, it was like 6th grade all over again.

I don�t think I made it home till about 9pm, and completely crashed out. I�m not sure how late I slept Moday, but I know I just laid around the next two days not really wanting to do anything. And I didn�t. Now I need to work on my unemployment crap. It�s due again Thursday. I hate this crap. I think I�m going into super-job-finding-mode now.

After I find a kick-ass guacamole recipe!

take | me