IT'S THE GREAT PAPERCHASE, CHARLIE BROWN!
Got a little easy @ 10:55 a.m.
on 2004-01-22

Oh good grief! (said Peppermint Patty style)

That's been my week.

I have been furiously sending out resumes like a mad woman. And...day before yesterday I sent contacted a small, new company that I don't know much about. Yesterday afternoon I received an email stating that I got an interview. Today is the day I have scheduled to contact the larger and some smaller, but well established companies. So I'm figuring that I can put off going in for the interview till Monday to give my first preferences a chance to respond.

ARGH.

I wish I had super powers right now.

Hell, I'd settle for just super cover letter writing powers and above average interviewing skills.

The thing is, I am a completely approachable/willing to approach anyone kind of person.

But, get me in front of an interviewer and my face flushes crimsom and my mind freezes up.

I think it's because I was deathly afraid of my mother as a kid, now any kind of judgemental situation flings me back into my childhood state of panic.

It's really not a pretty sight.

_______________________________________________

But Joe's off today (yeah!), he just left to run some errands and give me a chance to concentrate on this work...you see how hard I'm concentrating, right?

I had to write today, it's very cathartic. I had complete cover-letter-block yesterday and was useless. But I got some great research in. Luckily that doesn't require any creativity whatsoever.

Let me tell you about Joe's day yesterday....

He was supposed to be off, so as we were snuggling in the morning, hadn't yet gotten out of bed, his phone rings. It's his boss, and they need him to go to another town today because some guy was put in the hospital and everyone else are idiots, I guess. So he tells his boss he needs an hour to get ready, and three hours to drive to Lufkin. He kisses me goodbye and takes off for his house. A few hours later, I get a phone call saying his car broke down in Huntsville and he needs the names of tow trucks to come get him.

Don't worry, it gets worse.

Joe decides to drive his car back here (about an hour) only going about 55mph.

He gets PULLED OVER for driving too slow on a highway! Seriously, kids. He explains to the officer he's having car troubles, the guy understands, just needs to see his license and insurance.

Joe's insurance expired two days ago, and he forgot to pay it last week.

So he gets a ticket for no insurance and is sent on his merry way. I finally meet up with him at his mechanic's place, around 3:45, and offer to buy him a late lunch. I suggest we go to this Aloha BBQ place we'd never been to before, because it sounds interesting.

It was the worst chinese food I'd ever eaten! We still don't know why they call it "Aloha" if it has absoutely nothing to do with Hawaiian food! I was starving, so I scarfed down the edible things while Joe only ate two very small eggrolls. The sweet & sour sauce they gave us for the eggrolls was nasty, too. How can you mess up sweet & sour sauce?

Anyway, I've really got to get cracking here. Oh, but here's a brief synopsis of the companies:

Company A: small, recently established, minimal client base, minimal experienced staff

Company B: small, well established, good client base, well experienced staff

Company C: large, well established, Mucho client base, tons and tons of experienced people

Company D: Global. Mega-company.

Wish me luck!

take | me